Sign up at Notify Me for alerts when this information is updated.

November 8, 2016 general election

The City Council on November 14 canvassed the results of the general election and certified the winners of two seats on the Council as Heidi Freske and Jeff Weisensel. Their four-year terms will begin in January.

Unofficial results are posted on the Dakota County website and on the Minnesota Secretary of State's site.

Important 2016 Election Dates

  • Filing period for City offices - May 17, 2016 through May 31, 2016
  • Absentee Voting for State & City Primary begins - June 24, 2016
  • Primary - August 9, 2016 - 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.
  • Absentee Voting for General Election begins - September 23, 2016
  • Extended voting hours at City Hall - Saturday, November 5 (10 a.m. to 3 p.m.) and Monday, November 7 (8 a.m. to 5 p.m.)
  • General Election - November 8, 2016 - 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Results of the August 9 primary election have been certified by the Rosemount City Council. [See the county tabulation for the City Council primary.] The top four candidates for City Council proceeded to the general election in November. [View Minnesota Secretary of State's database of candidates.]

A referendum was held in Rosemount on May 17, 2016. [See details.]

Other Links

Candidate filing documents

Download the necessary information sheets and forms to file as a candidate.

Campaign Signs

The City regulates campaign signs. View the campaign sign regulations.

Campaign Finance Reports

View reports from candidates for City offices.

Vote Absentee
Changes in Minnesota Election laws now allow for absentee voting without an excuse. You may request an absentee ballot online at this time, which will be mailed out during the absentee voting period. Ballots may be obtained in person or through the mail. More information can be found on the Absentee Voting page.

Election Contact Information

Rosemount City Hall
Ph: (651) 322-2003
City Clerk: Clarissa Hadler

Dakota County Property Taxation and Records Department
Ph: (651) 438-4380

Minnesota Secretary of State
Ph: (651) 296-9073